top of page

What have you done for You lately?


I remember Janet Jackson's song, "What have you done for me lately?" It was a really fun song to sing and dance to. But since I have grown up, not just physically but emotionally and psychologically, I know that I have to take care of myself. And that's done by asking myself, "what have I done for me lately?"


Don't get me wrong, as a believer we are supposed to be concerned for our neighbors, serve in our church, volunteer our time and talents, and do the will of God through ministry, He entrusts us with. However, if we aren't taking care of ourselves, we can do none of those things. Our Heavenly Father knows when we need to rest. Having a lot going on, did not just start today, in fact in Mark 6:31, Jesus speaks, and He said to them, "Come away by yourselves to a desolate place and rest a while." The scripture goes on to say for many were coming and going, and they (the disciples) had no leisure even to eat.


Self-care has always been and will always be important to our Savior, because if even He took time to withdraw to pray to the Father, how much more do we need to? The best self-care is time in the Father's presence.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page